APPROVED

ADVISORY BOARD ON OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY Minutes October 7, 2014

The Advisory Board on Occupational Therapy met on Tuesday, October 7, 2014 at 10:00 a.m. at the Department of Health Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Henrico, Virginia.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Eugenio Monasterio, MD, Chair

Mitch Lovinger, OT, Vice-Chair

Kathleen Smith, OT

MEMBERS ABSENT: None

STAFF PRESENT: Jennifer Deschenes, JD, Deputy Executive Director, Discipline

Alan Heaberlin, Deputy Executive Director, Licensure

Elaine Yeatts, Senior Regulatory Analyst Bradley Verry, Licensing Specialist

GUESTS PRESENT: Shaun Conway, NBCOT, INC.

Lindsay Walton, VOTA

CALL TO ORDER

Dr. Monasterio called the meeting to order at 10:02 a.m.

EMERGENCY EGRESS PROCEDURES

Mr. Heaberlin announced the Emergency Egress Instructions.

ROLL CALL

Roll was called and a quorum declared.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF OCTOBER 8, 2013

Mr. Lovinger moved to adopt the Minutes of October 8, 2013. The motion was seconded and carried.

ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Mr. Lovinger moved to adopt the agenda. The motion was seconded and carried.

PUBLIC COMMENT ON AGENDA ITEMS

There was no public comment.

NEW BUSINESS

#1. NBCOT Presentation

Shaun Conway, Director of Credentialing Services for NBCOT gave a presentation detailing the NBCOT's credentialing process, education requirements for recent graduates to sit for the NBCOT examination, renewal requirements to maintain a current NBCOT certification, and value added services that the NBCOT currently offers or will offer in the future.

#2. Meeting Calendar for 2015

Ms. Deschenes presented the 2015 Meeting Calendar. The Calendar was accepted as presented.

#3. Election of Officers

Dr. Monasterio nominated Mr. Lovinger to serve as Chair and Mr. Lovinger nominated Ms. Smith to serve as Vice-Chair. The motions were seconded and carried.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

There were no announcements.

NEXT MEETING DATE

February 3, 2014

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting of the Advisory board was adjourned at 11:27 a.m.	
Eugenio Monasterio, MD, Chair	Jennifer Deschenes, JD, Deputy Executive Director, Discipline
Bradley Verry, Licensing Specialist	